Sunday, November 29, 2015

Government Programmes : Senior citizen & Disabled Persons Welfare (With PDF)

National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

National Social Assistance Programme(NSAP) which came into effect from 15th August 1995 represents a significant step towards the fulfillment of the Directive Principles in Article 41 of the Constitution.

The programme introduced a National Policy for Social Assistance for the poor and aims at ensuring a minimum national standard for social assistance in addition to the benefits that states are currently providing or might provide in future.
The scheme is administered by the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India. It is fully funded by the Central Government, unlike some other welfare programs where the Union government shares cost with the State Governments.

National Assistance Program consists of five sub-schemes:
1. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)
2. Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS)
3. Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS)
4. National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS)
5. Annapurna Scheme
Let's discuss each one.

Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme

Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS) is a non-contributory old age pension scheme that covers Indians who are 60 years and above and live below the poverty line.
Eligibility: Individuals aged 60 years and above living below the poverty line
Amount: Rs. 200 per month for beneficiaries aged 60–79 and Rs. 500 per month for those 80 years and above.

Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme

IGNWPS scheme came into existence from February 2009. Sanction of pension to a beneficiary has to be made only after placing the database of the beneficiary in the public domain/website of the Ministry or State.
Eligibility: Widows aged 40 years and above living below the poverty line.
Amount: Rs. 300 per month (Rs. 500 for those 80 years and above).

The path to success is to take massive, determined action - Anthony Robbins

Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme

IGNDPS was introduced in February 2009. This scheme is meant for disabled (physically/mentally) people who are living below poverty line. The person should be in the age of 18-59 range.  The disability is defined by PWD Act. 1995, and person should be more than 40% disable. Once beneficiaries are identified through their disability and income, monthly payments of Rs200-400 are made to their post office or their bank account. The policy states that the benefit will be discontinued when “the son of the applicant attains the age of 21 years”. The idea that only the son of the applicant will be taking care of the disabled. Assumptions are made about the type of “care” (Financial? Unpaid?), and who is going to provide it.

National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS)

National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS) is a component of National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP). Under National Family Benefit Scheme,  In the event of a death of a breadwinner in a household, the bereaved family will receive the lumpsum assistance of Rs. 20,000.  The breadwinner should have been between 18–60 years of age. The assistance would be provided in every case of death of a breadwinner in a household.
Sponsor: Central Government
Funding Pattern: 100% funded by the Central Government

Annapurna Scheme

Annapurna Scheme had been announced by the Finance Minister in his Budget Speech for the year 1999-2000 to provide food security to those indigent senior citizens who are not covered under the targeted Public Distribution System (PDS) and who have no income of their own. National Old Age Pension Scheme (NOAPS), which was launched in 1995, provides a pension at the rate of Rs.75/- per month to destitute aged 65 years and above. However, all indigent senior citizens are not covered under the scheme.  The Annapurna Scheme aims at providing food security to such indigent senior citizens who though eligible for old age pensions remain uncovered under NOAPS, by providing 10 kgs. of foodgrains per month free of cost.

Jeevan Pramaan

“Jeevan Pramaan” scheme is an Aadhar-based Digital Life Certificate for pensioners. The scheme was launched on November 10, 2014. The beneficiaries of the scheme are over a crore retired employees of government and PSUs. The digital certification will do away with the earlier requirement of a pensioner having to either personally present himself/herself before the pension disbursing agency or submit a Life Certificate issued by authorities specified by the Central Pension Accounting Office (CPAO) in November each year in order to ensure continuity of pension being credited into his/her account.

Using Jeevan Pramaan, a pensioner can now digitally provide proof of his/her existence to authorities for continuity of pension every year instead of requiring to present himself/herself physically or through a Life Certificate issued by specified authorities. Jeevan Pramaan uses the Aadhaar platform for biometric authentication of the pensioner. A successful authentication generates the Digital Life Certificate which gets stored in the Life Certificate Repository. The Pension Disbursing Agencies can access the certificate on-line.

Deendayal Disabled Rehabilitation Scheme

The objectives of the scheme are:
- To create an enabling environment to ensure equal opportunities, equity, social justice and empowerment of persons with disabilities.
- To encourage voluntary action for ensuring effective implementation of the People with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities and Protection of Rights) Act of 1995.

Deendayal Disabled Rehabilitation Scheme (DDRS) Scheme is to provide financial assistance to voluntary organizations to make available the whole range of services necessary for rehabilitation of persons with disabilities including early intervention, development of daily living skills, education, skill development oriented towards employability, training and awareness generation. Voluntary organisations are assisted in running rehabilitation centres for leprosy cured persons and also for manpower development in the field of mental retardation and cerebral palsy. They are also assisted in establishment and development of special schools for major disability areas, viz. Orthopedic, speech, hearing, visual and mental disability.

Varishta Pension Bima Yojana

Varishta Pension Bima Yojana (VPBY) is a scheme for the benefit of senior citizens aged 60 years and above. The scheme is being administered through Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC). It will remain open for a period of one year from 15th August 2014 to 14th August 2015. Under the scheme, all those who will subscribe to the VPBY during this period will receive a pension linked to an assured guaranteed return of 9% on the lump sum contribution under the Yojana.

Age: Minimum 60 years (completed), no maximum age limit
Varishta Pension Bima Yojana provides Minimum Pension of Rs. 500/- per month and Maximum pension of Rs. 5000/- per month

Download This Article in pdf format

Problem Downloading Click Here


Post a Comment